CIVIL OFFICES ACT OF 2024

<u>AN ACT</u>

To ensure that civil offices of the United States are defined in law in accordance with Article 11 of the U.S. Constitution.

INTRODUCED BY

MR. COASTBREEZE of the great state of California introduced this bill on 9 August 2024 (for himself, VICE PRESIDENT CABOT and PRESIDENT TEASOUPS) which was later referred to the Committee on Government Affairs.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled–

TITLE I – GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section 101. Short Title.

(a) This Act shall be referred to as the 'Civil Offices Act of 2024' as its short title.

Section 102. Enforcement and Severability.

- (a) This Act remains 'severable' in accordance with the severability doctrine maintained and developed by the courts of the United States.
- (b) This Act shall immediately come into effect.

TITLE II – CIVIL OFFICES

Section 201. Civil Offices; Defined.

- (a) The following offices are designated civil offices in accordance with Article 11 of the United States Constitution:
 - Any officer of the United States appointed receiving advice and consent of the Senate, except:
 - (1) Appointed members of the National Employment and Labor Authority;

- (2) Appointed members of the Tribunal of Statutory Compatibility;
- (3) Any other act which explicitly states that such an office is not defined as a civil office in accordance with Article 11 of the Constitution.
- (ii) The head of any executive or legislative agency, and their deputy, if such agency possesses the use of a team in the District of Columbia.
- (iii) Any officer of the Army, Marine Corps, or Air Force, holding the rank of Brigadier General (O7) or above.
- (iv) Any officer of the Navy holding the rank of Rear Admiral Lower Half (O7) or above.
- (v) The following municipal officers:
 - (1) Mayor of the District of Columbia (or any reasonable equivalent);
 - (2) Deputy Mayor of the District of Columbia (or any reasonable equivalent);
 - (3) Members of the District of Columbia City Council (or any reasonable equivalent);
 - (4) Attorney General of the District of Columbia (or any reasonable equivalent);
 - (5) Chief of the Metropolitan Police Department and their deputy (and any reasonable equivalents).